A stone from my father

Samuel Betances

One of the most important challenges I have faced is forgiving a father who failed to love and support me. Forgiving him has been particularly difficult because he never voiced regret or repentance for how he treated me and my siblings. I looked to him for bread, proverbially speaking, and he gave me a stone.

In my quest to forgive, I first had to become mindful of his single greatest contribution. It was not warm hugs or discipline. It was not wealth or wise counsel. He was not there to take me to games, watch me win debating contests or celebrate as I graduated several times over. He skipped my wedding. I never received a birthday or Christmas present from him. He was literally absent. He made one priceless contribution however, he and my mother gave me life!

My second challenge was to understand the trauma that robbed him of his capacity to be a real father. As I confronted my memories, I had to resist thinking: “What’s wrong with you?” and ask instead: “What happened to you?”

It started with his dad. My grandfather, Fernando Betances, was a strong, tough man. He was a cop with a reputation as an enforcer. He was also a ladies man. In uniform, he captured the admiration of his peers, his community and another woman.

Young Julio was 11 years old when his dad fired his gun in the air. The whole neighborhood flocked to see what the commotion was all about. He wanted to leave my grandma, so he publicly accused her of being unfaithful. My father knew it was a lie. He wished that his father would drop dead. Tragically, while on duty a year later, Officer Fernando was murdered. His young son’s wish had become a dreadful reality. Soon after, my grandmother died of tuberculosis, shame and a broken heart. My father asked his dad for a fish and got a snake instead.