Editor's note: The names of the people in this article have been changed to protect their confidentiality.

One summer, I decided to do an early morning walk at the beach in Tumon. While doing my exercise, I spotted an elderly man staring at the ocean. On my third lap, I noticed the same elderly man focused on the same stare. I became concerned. I got my cooler with water and juice in my car and headed toward the elderly man.

I sat about a foot away from him. He looked at me as though wondering why I sat beside him. I gave him a respectful nod and said, “Good morning, how are you this morning?”

He kept mum for a moment and gave me a doubtful look. After three seconds, he said, “Who are you and why do you care?”

I introduced myself, “I am Marie and I am a registered nurse. I observed you were intensely gazing at the ocean. I wanted to know if you are alright.”

He responded: “I am Felipe. Today would have been my 50th wedding anniversary but sadly my wife died last year with brain cancer. I miss her very much.”

Then he wept.

I listened but didn’t interrupt. Felipe sobbed and started to share his story about his wife, children and grandchildren. In a soft voice, he expressed, “Today is the day that I plan to end it all and join my wife. I cannot live another day without her. She was a terrific woman, she nags me at times but laughs a lot and I yearn those days.”

He affirmed that he is definitely thinking of ending his life. I asked how he was planning to do this and when. He articulated by drowning in the ocean and soon. This is how he wants to end it all.

I understood the seriousness of the situation and continued talking to him with compassion and empathy. I asked him tenderly about his children and grandchildren, how will they feel if he follows through with his plan. 

Felipe replied, “They have their own lives, they never call or even check on how I am doing. Besides they all live in the states.”