My mentor and boss was proud that she had not only persuaded me to return to high school after dropping out, but to graduate from college as well. She shared this with her peers at the teaching hospital where I worked. They, in turn, acknowledged my presence as I delivered supplies to their departments. I was earning minimum wage but receiving maximum respect.

My mentor was both happy and concerned for me. She knew that I was a first-generation student from a book-poor home. As such, she feared that I would enroll but never graduate, unless I gave her permission to counsel me. That I did.

Once a week for five months, we would have lunch and talk in her office. I felt respected in her presence. In those amazing conversations, she shared seven mighty truths that she believed would guide my journey to excel.

1. Graduate from high school and college.

Your future success depends on your graduating several times over. If you want to become a professional, a college degree is a must. No one had ever told me that before. I knew I had to strain every nerve, save my money and remove every obstacle to get it done.

2. Cross a bridge called books.

Make time for reading every day. It will help you to think critically and prepare you to become educable. Read books on how to study, take tests and use grammar appropriately. Grow your intelligence. Discuss lessons from books you read with educated adults. Reading will help you bridge the abyss created by a lack of literacy. Students from privilege have educated parents, who can guide them. The vocabulary and skills they acquire through a childhood of reading and assistance from private tutors, you can access through books.

3. Learn complex words from proficient speakers.