Defending kickball champions C.L. Taitano Elementary School will be squaring up against the seven schools gunning for glory in the Guam Police Department’s Fade Away from Violence “Choosing to be Drug & Alcohol Free” Kickball Tournament Saturday at the Guam Football Association National Training Center.

Defending champions C.L. Taitano Elementary School, Merizo Martyrs Memorial School, Capt. H.B. Price Elementary School, J.Q. San Miguel Elementary School, D.L Perez Elementary School, B.P. Carbullido Elementary School, Maria A. Ulloa Elementary School, and Agana Heights Elementary School are all still in the hunt for the champion’s trophy in the annual event’s second edition.

This year’s tournament, presented by the Guam Police Department, Guam Department of Education, Mañe’lu Foundation, and Micronesia Resource Center One Stop Shop, featured teams from 21 elementary schools. All teams gathered for an opening ceremony on Dec. 7 at GFA with special guests, including the Hon. Lou Leon Guerrero, Governor of Guam.

“Guam Football Association is proud to partner with all presenters for this annual kickball tournament, which not only is a fun event for students, but an event to further promote anti-bullying in our schools,” said Tino San Gil, GFA President. “I’d like to thank all involved in organizing this event for our school kids, including GFA’s Competitions and Grassroots departments; initiatives like this tournament also help to instill many values in our students, such as leadership, camaraderie, and teamwork."

San Gil said the responsibility to contribute to positive youth development falls on everyone in the community because they are the island’s future.

Playoff matches begin at 9 a.m. at GFA. The championship match is scheduled for 11 a.m. with an awards ceremony following the final match of the day.

Other elementary schools that participated in this year’s tournament are Finegayan Elementary School, Liguan Elementary School, M.U. Lujan Elementary School, Harry S. Truman Elementary School, P.C. Lujan Elementary School, Wettengel Elementary School, Juan M. Guerrero Elementary School, Marcial Sablan Elementary School, Machanaonao Elementary School, Chief Brodie Memorial School, Upi Elementary School, Ordot-Chalan Pago Elementary School, and Tamuning Elementary School.

Information was provided in a press release.