It was pedal to the metal as local riders continued to vie for a shot at the year-end title in Round 4 of the 2019 Monster Energy Guam Motocross Championships on Sunday at the Guam International Raceway in Yigo.

Mother Nature smiled on the riders, blessing them with a day of sun and wind. The course was loaded with jumps, bumps and many switchback turns to challenge the participants. Fans and family supporters were in for a full day of bar-banging action.

Divisions included the 50cc Kids Minibike class, in which riders as young as 4 years old competed on the very same course for riders on the bigger machines. Classes ranged in all sizes and included an Over-40 Vet class, along with several motorcycle and ATV classes.

Open Motorcycle

Lil John Aguon, aboard his RPM Yamaha-supported 450, easily swept the round to take the win. Carlo Pangelinan on his KTM 250 took second and Michael Limtiaco on a borrowed Yamaha two-stroker finished third. Rounding out the top five respectively were Jordan Leon Guerrero on a Yamaha 125 and RJ Santos on his Yamaha 250.

Open ATV

George Santos took his Yamaha to the overall win over second-place finisher Robert Bucek aboard the Cycles Plus Suzuki and third-place finisher Camillo Lorenzo.

Open Minibike

Richard Wenden aboard a KTM 65 ripped it up, battling for the win with Lawrence Limtiaco, who was aboard the Cycles Plus Kawasaki 85. As the checkered flag waved, it was Limtiaco taking the round win with Wenden in second and Damien Manibusan on a Honda in third. Wyett Santos aboard a KTM took fourth, with Kawasaki-mounted Derin Nauta in fifth.

Motorcycle divisions

• 450cc: Lil John Aguon took the top of the podium, beating Limtiaco.

• 350cc: Carlo Pangelinan took the win with Yamaha rider Jordan Leon Guerrero in second and RJ Santos, also on a Yamaha, in third.

• 80cc-125cc: Jordan Leon Guerrero took the win over RJ Santos.

Kids Minibike divisions

• 85cc: Cycles Plus rider Lawrence Limtiaco took home the win on a Kawasaki, with Wyett Santos and Derin Nauta rounding out the top three.

• 65cc: John Boy Aguon debuted his new ride, a Yamaha 65, dominating the round over Kawasaki-mounted Jessani Leon Guerrero in second and Jace Calvo in third. Rounding out the top five were Jay Whitman and Ty Overstreet, respectively.

• 50cc: John Boy Aguon dominated once again. Caden Castin earned second, while Leo Limtiaco finished in third.

Open Kids Mini ATV

Dylan Whitman ripped it up for first place over Eric Little and Greyson Overstreet.

Next on the schedule will be Round 5 of the six-round 2019 Monster Energy Guam Motocross Championship. The race will be held Aug. 25 at the Jose and Herminia Calvo Memorial Off-Road Park at the Guam International Raceway. Gates open at 8 a.m. and the racing kicks off at 11:30 a.m. Everyone is invited to attend, free of charge.

Information was provided in a press release.

Recommended for you